Unified Travel Cards Can Now be Used in 35 Cities Nationwide

Unified Travel Cards Can Now be Used in 35 Cities Nationwide
Sep 29, 2013 By eChinacities.com

Having to buy a new travel card in each city you visit can get annoying over time. But luckily, life is about to get a little simpler…

Another 18 Chinese cities have joined a scheme that allows you to use the same IC card (‘Yikatong’ travel card) in all participating cities. The third batch of cities to join includes Tianjin, Shenyang, and Fuzhou, bringing the total number of cities to 35.

As well as being able to use public transportation in all cities, citizens will be able to use it for other consumer goods and will enjoy preferential policies to the local charge. Beijing has still not signed up to the scheme.

The new cities include: Tianjin, Shenyang, Fuzhou, Sanya, Zhanjiang, Wuxi, Nantong, Liaoyuan, Songyuan, Karamay, Yulin, Longyan, Zhoushan, Taizhou, Changxing, Zhumadian, Yingtan and Kaili.

Cities already participating include: Shanghai, Ningbo, Shaoxing, Huzhou, Taizhou, Changshu, Lanzhou, Baiyin, Nanchang, Yongzhou, Huludao, Jinzhou, Jiangyou, Fushun, Kunshan, Jiangyin and Huai’an.

Warning:The use of any news and articles published on eChinacities.com without written permission from eChinacities.com constitutes copyright infringement, and legal action can be taken.

Keywords: Chinese cities IC cards


All comments are subject to moderation by eChinacities.com staff. Because we wish to encourage healthy and productive dialogue we ask that all comments remain polite, free of profanity or name calling, and relevant to the original post and subsequent discussion. Comments will not be deleted because of the viewpoints they express, only if the mode of expression itself is inappropriate.